February President’s Recognition Report

posted in: Recognition | 0

The Chemeketa Mock Trial Team finished second at last month’s Beaver Brawl at Oregon State University with a record of six wins and two losses. Four students took home individual honors.

Chuck Sekafetz, electronics program chair, along with staff members Steve Greco, Nathan Martin, Moses Navarro, Jonathan Segovia; alumni Kenneth Robinson and Eric Vargas and Baxter Robot were at the Salem Reads Robot Expo at the Salem Library on Saturday, January 28 to promote the Salem Library Reads book, Spare Parts.

Thanks to Sherie Ball, Larry Cheyne, Nol Cobb, Kelley Gembala, Johnny Mack and Sheldon Schnider for organizing a reception on February 2 for the signing of an educational partnership with DMG Mori, a global manufacturer of machines, tools, and software for the machining industry. Chemeketa has been recognized by DMG Mori as one of only five regional education centers of excellence in the country.

Congratulations to Kathy Campbell, dean of Enrollment Services, who received a lifetime member award at the Oregon Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.

Thanks to Rebecca Bolante, director of Threat Management Resources, and planning committee members Diane McLaran and Skyla Kohlmeyer for organizing the Disaster Behavioral Health conference on February 8– 9, at the Eola Wine Studies Center. Over 150 people attended from K–12, community colleges, universities, fire, law enforcement, counselors and clinicians.

An event to help students pay for college was held Friday, February 10, in the Study Skills Lab in Building 2. Over 100 currently enrolled students, as well as future students, received help with their financial aid and Chemeketa Foundation scholarship applications. Thanks to Cristina Barba, John Dedrick, Aaron King, James McNicholas, Otilia Morales, Selina Ramon Sanchez, Sue Varnum, Sarah Wait, and Esthela Zendejas who assisted the students and special thanks to Abby Grewatz and the Study Skills Staff for use of the space.

The Chemeketa Chapter of the American Association for Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) collected gently used clothing donated by dozens of employees for a sale  on February 13 in the Student Center on the Salem campus. Students enjoyed shopping for clothes, shoes, and accessories all priced at $1 each. The one-day sale raised almost $450 to help fund an AAWCC student scholarship. Event organizers were Nette Abderhalden, Erika Coker, Peggy Green, Lynn Irvin, Cathy Martell-Straight and Monica Valdivia. Other helpers were Judy Allen, Deanne Beausoleil, Rita Blaisdell, Vivi Calefi Prichard, Nancy Espinoza, Meghan Gallop, Sue Haskins-Bulgin, Ann Iseda, Guinne Muir, Sherrie Osborn, Aspen Padilla, Joshua Seech, Deborah Sipe, Terry Rohse, Mary Schroeder and Esthela Zendejas, along with several student volunteers. Clothing that was not sold was donated to the Salvation Army Lighthouse Shelter and Bridgeway Recovery Services Women’s Residential Program.

Board member Diane Watson who is a member of the Oregon Spirit Chorus participated in “An Evening of A Cappella” on Friday night, February 17, in the Building 6 Auditorium. A cappella groups from middle and high schools, colleges, and adult groups performed, including a debut performance from Chemeketa’s a capella group, organized by Kerry Burtis, Chemeketa’s music director.

See the complete archive of recognition reports on Employee Dashboard.