April president’s recognition report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie thanked the following colleagues in her April recognition report to the Board of Education –

Kellie Schellenberg completed her Master’s in Business Administration degree with an emphasis in Leadership and Organizational Development from Marylhurst University.

Linda Ringo-Reyna coordinator of Multicultural Student Services, and board secretary to the Nellie Thompson-Dorothy Patch Scholarship, organized an event to recognize the 25 high school students who were awarded scholarships.

David Hallett and Blanca Aguirre led the seventh service learning group to the rural community of El Cedro, Nicaragua, with 18 students in the HUM120, Community Service in Action class over spring break. Employees who participated as students were Lee Johnson, Christopher MacLean and Gwenellyn Anderson.

Tim Rogers presented at the Western Alliance of Community College Academic Leaders on Affordable Course Materials: Open Education Resources (OER) and Other Options on March 23, in Long Beach, California.

Thanks to Nette Abderhalden, Deanne Beausoleil, Andrew Bone, Heidi Grew and Laura Mack for quickly finding alternative rooms in Building 2 and providing pizza lunch for the High School Art Symposium hosted by the Visual and Performing Art Program (VAPA).

James McNicholas supervisor in Marketing, Public Relations, and Student Recruitment helped plan the 10th annual Oregon Battle of the Books on Saturday, April 10. Terry Rohse and Sean Warner managed the facilities and logistics for the event.

Students Jennifer Bowers, Kelly Soto and Delaney Adix were selected as the three Chemeketa students for the OCCA All Oregon Academic Team for 2017.

Megan Cogswell, director of Apprenticeship programs, was selected to participate in the week-long LEADERS Institute in Red Bank, New Jersey in June. Lynn Irvin administrative coordinator for College Support Services, received a national scholarship from the American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) to also attend the institute.

Thanks to the following employees who testified and/or arranged for community members to testify at hearings at the Legislature: R. Taylor, dean of Business and Technology, Early Childhood Education and Visual Communications; Julie Huckestein, Sandi Kellogg, dean of Health Sciences, Pam Fifer, academic coordinator of Health Services; Holly Nelson, dean of Yamhill Valley; and Johnny Mack, executive dean of Career and Technical Education.