June President’s Recognition Report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie recognized before the Board of Education the following colleagues for recent contributions to Chemeketa and to their professions –

Kathy Campbell, dean of Financial Aid and Veterans’ Services, was awarded the Lifetime Member Award from the Western Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.

Thanks to Nancy Duncan, for organizing the 4th Annual Toast to Clayton Vorse reception on April 10 recognizing Clayton Vorse, former Foundation Board president.

Nancy Duncan and Jamie Wenigmann organized STARS receptions for scholarship recipients and donors. They also supported the Yamhill Valley Campus STARS reception along with Tracie Burger, Brian Covey, Michelle Dyer, and Holly Nelson.

College employees from the Library and Chemeketa Cooperative Regional Library Service (CCRLS) helped organize and present at the Oregon Library Association (OLA) Annual Conference. Michele Burke, reference librarian, served as chair of the conference. Tricia Bender, John Goodyear and Doug Vancey gave a presentation.

Sheila Brown, Holly Cook Lynn Irvin and Cindy Scott organized the Retiree Celebration on May 15.

Kevin Walther won the Diversity Essay award for the Oregon Public Purchasing Association at the spring regional conference in Pendleton on May 17.

Kay Bunnenberg Boehmer organized the annual Student Art Show and awards reception on May 17 where over 100 people attended.

The TRiO and College Completion Program (CCP) Celebration was held on June 1. In addition to student awards, staff awards were presented to Rosalba Aguilar De Luna, Julio Almeida, Karie Beavert, Kathy Campbell and Jon Terrazas.

Emily Weidlich, Storm volleyball, and Kordell Vasbinder, Storm men’s baseball, received the Art Feiro Outstanding Scholar Athlete Award at The Northwest Athletics Conference (NWAC) annual Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet.

Two Chemeketa music concerts were held spring term. Thanks to Kerry Burtis, music instructor/director.

Chemeketa successfully implemented House Bill 2871 to display information in the searchable class schedule on course materials cost (being low cost (less than $40) or no cost) in time for summer term registration. Staff in Information Technology, Bookstore and Scheduling worked together to move this initiative forward. And, in an unprecedented success, fall term book adoptions had already reached 99 percent by mid-May. This early adoption is a collaborative effort on behalf of Academic Deans, Faculty Lean Development and Bookstore staff.

Thanks to Linda Herrera for inviting and organizing speakers Nicole and Wayne Maines to come to Chemeketa on June 8. They are featured in the Chemeketa Reads book, Becoming Nicole: the Transformation of an American Family. Event volunteers included Nette Abderhalden, Karen Alexander, Judy Allen, Patricia Antoine, Cary Ballew-Renfrow, Cristina Barba, Meghan Gallop, Robin Gilley, Greg Harris, Julie Huckestein, Chris Kato, Tim King, Adam Mennig, Beth Perlman, Linda Ringo-Reyna, Marshall Roache, Terry Rohse, Public Safety, Meredith Schreiber, Alice Sprague, Steve Vincent, Sean Warner, Esthela Zendejas and students Mayra Ibarra and Laura Moreno

Thanks to Leanna Crawford, English instructor, for organizing and promoting this year’s Soapbox Poetry and to the following faculty and staff who participated in this year’s readings: Chris Cottrell, Martin Giovannini, Mathew Hodgson, Julie Huckestein, Tammy Jabin, Shannon Kelley, Michele Dishong McCormack, Brian Moser, Jill Rupert, Steve Slemenda, Kevin Smith, R.S. Stewart, Sam Temple and Elias Villegas.

Mike Evans, Manuel Guerra, Heather Misener, Yesica Navarro, Jeannie Odle and Stacey Wells are thanked for planning and organizing the college’s 61st commencement ceremony that was held on June 20 at the Pavilion. Many other helpers and volunteers contributed to the success of this year’s graduation.