September recognition report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie recognized the following colleagues at our September Board of Education meeting.

Rebeca Hillyer, general counsel, participated in a “Women in Leadership” panel at Tokyo University. The panel answered questions and talked with 13–14 year old girls from Japan who were attending a three-week leadership camp.

Thanks to Corrections employees Sandra Anguinaga, Michael Budke, Linda Lacey, Helena Longton and Jon Tucker for organizing two College Inside and GED graduations for the Oregon State Penitentiary (OSP) on August 4 and Santiam Correctional Institution (SCI) on August 24. Also, thanks to board member Ed Dodson and board chair Ken Hector who gave a welcome at each event. Eighteen students received degrees and 74 students earned GEDs. Chemeketa is the only institution in Oregon to offer a complete two-year degree to students currently housed in correctional facilities.

The 54th annual Woodburn Fiesta Mexicana was held on August 4–6 at Woodburn’s Legion Park. Woodburn High School senior Daisy Tapia was crowned as the 2017 Fiesta Queen; and Woodburn High School senior Claudia Perez Correa was the First Princess. Queen Daisy received a one-year Chemeketa Community College scholarship, and Princess Claudia received a one-term scholarship. Thanks to Elias Villegas for his assistance in the coronation and to board member Neva Hutchinson who gave a welcome and awarded the scholarships. Over 23,000 people attended the event.

The 28th and final Rick Adelman Golf Classic was held at Illahe Hills Country Club on August 7. Rick was honored at the luncheon and thanked for his long-time support of the athletics program and service to Chemeketa Community College. Thanks to Nancy Duncan and Jamie Wenigmann, Foundation staff, who organized the event; and the Adelman Committee members Andrew Bone, Lindsey Martin, LeAnn Keim and Lee Sjothun.

Volunteers included Nette and David Abderhalden, Brenna Baucum, Cassie Belmodis, Rita Blaisdell, Margarita Escobedo, Michelle Hill, Terri Jacobson, Teka Landaker, Les Margosian, Kevin McCarrell Adam Menning, Otilia Morales, Betty O’Brien, Jeannie Odle, Marshall Roache, Maria Schmidlkofer, Ann Marie Searingin, Denise Thompson and Ryan West along with a number of Storm athletes.

The college was closed on August 21 due to the solar eclipse. Thanks to employees in Public Safety, Facilities, support and administrative staff, and law enforcement students who came in that day to monitor and secure college sites and direct visitors to parking lots: Efrain Alonzo, Rory Alvarez, Brian Bagwell, Amanda Behnke, Carole Berkey, James Berndt, Allen Bunch, Sofia Contenta, Chris Cooper, Brian Covey, Lea Cunningham, Bradlee Davis, Paul Davis, Bob Denherder, Capri Edington, Zelda Emmert, Cory Gorman, Manuel Guerra, David Hallett, Salverio Hernandez, David Horton, Nancy Howard, Julie Huckestein, Maria Jaroch, Dennis Kirk, Bill Kohlmeyer, Steve Kohlmeyer, Robert LaFollete, Efrain Lopez, Johnny Mack, Deric Mann, Glen Miller, Dwayne Mitzel, Holly Nelson, Tim Richardson, Bill Riffle, Tim Rogers, Gustavo Villazana, Elias Villegas, Jennifer White, Mike Wilson and Steve Woodward.

The Chemeketa Storm Chasers Hood-to-Coast team participated in the 36th Annual relay run on August 25–26. The team of 12 runners finished the 199-mile race in 31 hours, 28 minutes and 8 seconds, placing 70th in the Mixed Open category and 664 overall. Chemeketa runners were Becky Beggs, Matt Blankenship, (team co-captain), Mary Hughes, Lee Johnson, Bryan Rollins (team co-captain), Julie Schonbachler, Rachel Schonbachler Nusom, Ann Marie Swearingin, Brad Tedrow, Elias Villegas and Jessica Wright. Van 1 driver 1 was Cy Hill and the driver for Van 2 was Monica Valdivia. Course volunteers were Melissa Columbus, Layli Liss and retiree Jill Ward.  Retiree Liz Goulard provided a rest stop for Van 1; and Cleo Alvarez and Irma Guzman were the support crew at Seaside.

Chemeketa Community College  was selected as a finalist for the 2017 Campus Sustainability Achievement Award from the Association for Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) in the Associate’s College category. The case study submitted for the award was “Revisiting Service Learning Through Food Equity: One Outcome from the Chemeketa/Marion Food Share Youth Partnership.” Winners will be announced at the AASHE Conference in San Antonio, Texas in October.

Thanks to Megan Cogswell and Sheila McCartney for their work with North Marion High School on a Pre-Apprenticeship pilot with North Marion High School, which was recently approved by the Oregon State Apprenticeship and Training Council. The Council was excited about this new opportunity which does not exist for students living outside the Portland Metro area.

The theme for this year’s fall kickoff was “Understanding Our Students.” Thanks to the Fall Kick-off Committee for putting together two weeks of events, sessions, and gatherings to start off the traditional beginning of the academic year. Members included Sheila Brown, Dee Dixon, Jim Eustrom, Sage Freeman, Meghan Gallop, Greg Harris, Lynn Irvin, Terry Rohse, Deborah Sipe, Cindy Scott and Alice Sprague. Also thanks to staff of Northwest Innovations, Media Services and Facilities.

A half-day Classified Retreat was held on Tuesday, September 12. Thanks to the organizers: Sheila Brown, Mary Cooper, Sam Kirby, Yesica Navarro  and Terry Rohse. Presenters were Gwenellyn Anderson, Holly Cook, Alice Sprague, Kylen Stevens and retiree Jill Ward.

A full-day Faculty Retreat was held on Thursday, September 14. Thanks to the organizers Cheryl Davis, Genevieve Halkett, Alissa Hattman, Lori Jones, Layli Liss, Joyce Park, Deborah Sipe and Colin Stapp. Presenters were Blanca Aguirre, Cleo Alvarez, Gwenellyn Anderson, Tiffany Borden, Jannie Crossler-Laird, Pam Ditterick, Genevieve Halkett, Charisa Henckel, Eusebio Herrera-Perez, Traci Hodgson, Jeffery Howard, Laura Mack, Robyn MacKillop, Christopher McLean, Kim Martin, Jeff McCabe, Robert McKee, Eva Payne, Jennifer Sadouk, Karen Stevens and Josie Wood.