October recognition report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie recognized the following for recent contributions to Chemeketa and to their professions at the October Board of Education meeting.

Fire Protection Program students gathered on Saturday, August 26, to participate in the Adopt-a-Road Program. Chemeketa Fire Program adopted Brooklake Road over two years ago and do the clean-up every six months. Many thanks are owed to the following students:

Erika Alcantar, Nathan Averett, Bryuson Belloir, Kaleb Carmony, Kolby Cole, Michael Finneran, Dan Goeke, Juan Gutierrez, jonathan Hebert, Joseph Hiller, Michaelr Howard, Geovanni Jacobo, Peter Karakay, Brenden, McKenzie, Payton Peterson-Scotter, Bo Ramos, Chad Schoonhoven, Tanner Schrenk, Jacob Schulz, Noah Smith, Brandon Wallet, Cameron Whitney, Gave Wick, Jack Wolf, Cody Woods, Benjamin Zweber and fire instructor Cliff Monson.

The 4th annual High Voltage Art Collaborative (HVAC) was a huge success, Thanks to Terry Rohse and Allison Stewart Hull for organizing the event. Thanks to the following talented employees who participated: Ken Anderson, Teresa Bell, Stacie Clark, Jason Collmann, Michael Dahl, Shannon Eagles, Minna Gelder, Martin Giovannini, John Hadley, Paco Hadley, Beth Hale, David Hallett, Greg Harris, Rebecca Hillyer, Neva Hutchinson, Diana Inch, Lynn Irvin, Terri Jacobson, Katey Jordon, Estelle Leong, Cathy Martell-Straight, Brett Matti, Amy McKinley, Bryan Monson, Suzanne Monson, Ruth Perkins, Tim Pierce, Terry Rohse, Collin Stapp, Allison Stewart Hull, Caleb Stratemeyer and Jamie Wenigmann.

On September 21, Bill Klein was asked to share the role and the importance of advisory committees to Mt. Hood Community College’s CTE faculty. Because of Bill’s outstanding work, Mt. Hood Community College donated $250 to the Chemeketa Alton C. Hupp Memorial Fire Service scholarship fund.

New Student Preview Day was held on Friday, September 22, to welcome new students and provide a number of workshops to get them ready for fall term. Thanks to Guy Craig, and Denise Galley for organizing the event. Thanks also to the many presenters: Blanca Aguirre, Tiffany Borden, Vivi Caleffi Prichard, Sara Csaky, Anne Etzel, Sage Freeman, Adam Holden, Teter Kapan, Bill Kohlmeyer, Gary Kuhn, Cathy Martell-Straight, Kim Martin, Cecelia Monto, Rebecca Salinas-Oliveros, Jennifer Sadouk, Alba Scholz, Karen Stevens as well as Chemeketa Online, College Access Programs, Financial Aid, Library, Reading, Writing and Study Skills, Student Computer Center, Triangle Club and Tutoring.

The annual Chemeketa All-Staff Bowling Event was held on Friday, September 22, at Northgate Bowl. The event had nine teams and a total of 54 participants. Thanks to Denise Thompson who organized the event with helpers Lynn Irvin, Stacey Wells and Bolt the college mascot. Special thanks to Meredith Schreiber, bookstore manager, who donated prizes. The best team name was “Split Happens” made up of Adriana Barrera, Luisana Chavez, Laura Cipriano, Chris Kato, Eduardo Martinez and Adam Menning.

The best uniform/costume went to the “Lane of Thrones” made up of Kim Eitner, Paco Hadley, Teter Kapan and Cameron O’Neil. Highest Team Average went to “The Pinitentiary” made up of Sandra Aguinaga, Jon Andrus, Michael Budke, Sam Temple, Tina Temple and Jon Tucker. There was a three-way tie on most strikes in a game with four by Matt Baker, Adam Mennig and Elias Villegas.

Thanks to Maria Cruise, political science instructor, and students Connor Amundsun and Jesse Thompson, who presented “Mock Trial: A Pathway to Personal Transformation.” at the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Leadership Congress Conference on September 26, in Las Vegas.

Chemeketa Yamhill Valley Campus received the 2017 Outstanding Partner of the Year from the McMinnville Economic Development Partnership (MEDP) at the annual awards event on October 3, at The Falls Event Center at Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum in McMinnville.

The Chemeketa American Association of Women in Community Colleges chapter participated in the Discover Pink Walk on Saturday, October 14, in downtown Salem. Walkers included Nette Abderhalden, Beatriz Arevalo, Rita Blaisdell (retired), Rebecca Bolante, Erika Coker, Peggy Greene, Irma Guzman, Julie Huckestein, Lynn Irvin, Kimberly Jensen, Lisa Mauschbaugh Lobo, Cathy Martell-Straight and Monica Valdivia.