December recognition report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie recognized the following colleagues before the Board of Education for recent contributions to Chemeketa and to their professions.

Ken Hector, board chair, was appointed to be a member of the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Public Policy and Advocacy Committee. Ron Pittman, is the ACCT Oregon State Coordinator.

Meredith Schreiber, Bookstore director, presented at the Textbook Affordability Conference in Atlanta. She shared the college’s success in reducing the cost of course materials.

Thanks to Lynn Irvin, executive assistant for College Support Services, who helped organize the American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) fall conference. Erika Coker, advising specialist, received the 2017 Community College Excellence Award. Sessions were presented by Chris Kato, R. Taylor and Jennifer Sadouk on the Early Childhood Education, Educator Development (ECEED) Program. The Chemeketa Choir, led by Kerry Burtis, performed at the conference.

The Chemeketa Storm Women’s Volleyball team won the 2017 Northwest Athletic Commission (NWAC) championship. The team finished the season with a 30–4 record.

Thanks to the Holiday Social Committee planning members Karen Alexander, Holly Nelson, Dee Dixon, Nancy Espinosa, Irma Guzman, Ashley Hackett, Lynn Irvin, Tim King (co-chair) Laura Leon-Cipriano, Adam Mennig, Gloria Phipps, Brian Rader, Terry Rohse (co-chair), Joan Shaffers and Steve Vincent for organizing the event.

Nancy Duncan and Jamie Wenigmann, Foundation staff, are thanked for coordinating a benefit event with the Salem Holiday Market on Friday, December 8. This was the opening night of the three-day Holiday Market which had wine tasting, hors d’oeuvres, and early shopping specials with proceeds from admission fees going to the Chemeketa Student Relief Fund. The Chemeketa Cellars booth was staffed by Jessie Sandrock and Amanda Fredrickson. Steph Fregosi and Neva Hutchinson also had booths. Thank you to the other staff who participated throughout the weekend, including: Kerry Burtis and the Chemeketa Carolers, Megan Gonzalez, Grecia Garcia Perez and Pam Ditterick.

Thanks to the many faculty and staff who have been heavily involved in the instructional and service area program reviews which occur on a five-year cycle and encourages programs and service areas to reflect as a group on performance in relation to the college’s mission and core themes.