May Recognition Report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie Huckestein recognized the following colleagues for recent contributions to Chemeketa and to their professions at the May Board of Education meeting.

Chemeketa Community College is the only educational institution in Oregon to meet Hispanic-Serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities (HSACU) eligibility standards. This makes the college eligible for NIFA’s Hispanic Serving Institutions Education Grants Program to carry out higher education programs in food and agricultural sciences, natural resources, and nutrition. Additionally, as a recognized HSACU, Chemeketa may be given preference in other USDA NIFA grant competitions.

Sandi Kellogg, dean, Health Sciences, was elected to be a member of the Oregon Nurses Association’s Education Cabinet.

Oregon Pacific Area Health Education Center, Willamette Valley Medical Center, and Chemeketa Community College joined forces to provide a Healthcare Career Day at the Yamhill Valley Campus in McMinnville on April 12. Forty-three students from Amity, Gervais, Sheridan and Willamina high schools participated.

Bill Whitley, part-time music instructor, has an album entitled “I Dream Awake,” that was awarded the No. 11 spot in Textura Magazine’s Top 20 classical albums of 2017 and received a review from American Record Guide.

Michele Dishong-McCormack, writing instructor, is one of 40 people invited to attend a conference at Rutgers University Law School sponsored by the Mellon Foundation. Michele is the only community college person and the only Oregonian attending. The special invite was for people involved with prison education, re-entry, and other related issues.

Vivi Caleffi Prichard, Title IX Office, and Linda Ringo-Reyna, from the Multicultural Center hosted and organized the 4th Annual Stop Violence Against Women Awareness event on April 19. The guest poet and Chemeketa employee, Caleb Stratemeyer performed one of his original poems honoring women and families, which he wrote especially for the event. Kim Martin and Blanca Aguirre, from the Counseling Center engaged the audience in a Healthy Relationships workshop; Marshall Roache, dean of Emergency Services, and Meghan Gonzales, criminal justice instructor, provided information and answered questions about victim-centered law enforcement response to sexual violence.

The Chemeketa Chapter of Alpha Kappa Omicron was one of 123 Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) chapters to receive national recognition among the 1,300 PTK chapters.

Thanks to the generous donations from many, many college employees, the Chemeketa chapter of AAWCC (American Association for Women in Community Colleges) had a very successful clothing sale on Monday, April 23. Over $900 was collected for scholarships. That’s over 900 items at $1 each! What didn’t sell was donated to the Homeless Outreach and Advocacy Plan. Volunteers who helped plan the event, sort clothing and staff the sale were Nette Abderhalden, Angela Archer, Wendy Baker, Michele Burke, Trina Butler, Erika Coker, Peggy Greene, Rebecca Hillyer, Simone Hughes, Lynn Irvin, Cathy Martell-Straight, Guinne Muir, Joyce Park, Vivi Callefi-Prichard, Linda ringo0-Reyna, Mary Schroeder, Monica Valdivia and Mercedes Wingo.

Johnny Mack, executive dean of Career Technical Education, presented along with Brad Capener and Tyler Scialo-Lakeberg, from the Salem-Keizer School District, at the National Association of State Directors of Migrant Education’s annual conference held in Portland, on May 1. The presentation highlighted the successful partnership of the Summer Migrant Program between Salem-Keizer and Chemeketa Community College.

Chemeketa Community College received a Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting by the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States (GFOA) for its comprehensive annual financial report (CAFR) for fiscal year ending June 30, 2017. The Certificate of Achievement is the highest form of recognition in

the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting and its attainment represents a significant accomplishment by a government and its management. Thanks to Katie Bunch, Rich McDonald, Miriam Scharer, and the Business Services accounting unit.

Thanks to Elias Villegas, dean of the Woodburn Center, Efrain Alonso, instructional technician at the Woodburn Center, and for organizing and hosting the annual Woodburn Cinco de Mayo celebration on May 4, at the Woodburn Center.

The inaugural Affordable Learning Initiative recognition event was held on May 2, to recognize faculty and staff for their contributions to reducing the cost of textbooks and course materials.

Thanks to the planning committee of Judy Allen, Natalie Beach, Sage Freeman, Grecia Garcia Perez, Beth Hale, Nancy Howard, Michael Milhausen, Aspen Padilla, Steve Richardson, Tim Rogers, Kellie Schellenberg, Alba Scholz, Meredith Schreiber, R. Taylor and Friday Valentine. The President’s Award went to the Art for Everyone textbook, by Chemeketa art faculty Deanne Beausoleiol, Kay Bunenber-Goehmer, Heidi Grew, Laura Mack and Deborah Trousdale.

See the article about the affordable learning event on Chemeketa Connects.