June recognition report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie Huckestein recognized the following colleagues for recent contributions to Chemeketa and to their professions at the June Board of Education meeting.

Sheila Brown, Holly Cook, Greg Harris, Lynn Irvin, Terri Jacobson, Cindy Scott, and Esthela Zendejas are thanked for organizing the Retiree Celebration on May 7. Special thanks to Media Services and Northwest Innovations. 20 retirees were honored, representing 445 years of service to the college— Steve AgeeSherie Ball, Robin Bischoff, Andrew Bone, Linda Crosby, Anne Etzel, Robin Gilley, Linda Herrera, Sally Jasper, Teresa Landau, Christine Linder, Regi Lombardi, Sheila McCartney, Guinne Muir, Joyce Park, Cynthia OlsenMichele Paulson, Forrest Peck, Tom Rodgers, and Deborah Sipe.

Thanks to Kay Bunnenberg Boehmer, art faculty, for organizing the annual Student Art Show and awards reception on May 9. Juror awards went to—First place, David Moraga for “Square One”; second place, Jean Kane for “Yorkshire Gold”; and third place to Brice Spreadbury. Other students who received purchase awards and recognition awards were: Kim Brusse, Sean Donovan, Hope Ferns, Marjorie Ferry, Yana IgnatovichAmanda Iwahiro, Cassandra Johns, Erica Meyer, David Moraga, Melissa Scharnagl, Kayla Rigsby, and Sadie Watson. Congratulations to all the students who had artwork displayed in the art show.

Thanks to Nicole Dickerson, Nancy Duncan, and Jamie Wenigmann, for organizing the 10th annual STARS (Students Toward Academic Recognition and Success) reception for scholarship recipients and donors on April 27 at the Broadway Commons. Also, thanks to Kelsey Anderson, Brian Covey, Tracie Burger, Nicole Dickerson, Nancy Duncan, Michelle Dyer, Danielle Hoffman and Jamie Wenigmann, for organizing the 3rd annual Yamhill Valley Campus STARS reception for scholarship recipients and donors on May 11 at Yamhill Valley Campus. This year 2,260 students applied for foundation scholarships, 648 scholarships were awarded, and $1,200 was the average scholarship award. A total of $569,566 in scholarships were awarded.

Chemeketa hosted the Lower Willamette FFA District skills competition on May 16 with over 100 students and 6 schools competing in Welding, Machining, Crops, Electrical and Surveying. Thanks to Mike Myers who coordinated the event, along with David Berkley, Gary Grassman, Duane Hibbeler, Brian Keechle, Shirley Lamkey and Chemeketa students from welding, fabrication and machining who also played a role in helping with setup, judging, and keeping the events running smooth.

The Courier won two first-place and two second-place awards at this year’s Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association Collegiate Contest. Maxwell Romprey won first place for Best Columnist and first place for Best Review; Matt Skog won second place for Best Feature Story; and The Courier Staff won second place for Best Website.

Thanks to Amanda Fredrickson, Sherrie Maggarell, and Jessie Sandrock for organizing another successful Barrel Tasting and Celebration event on May 17 at the Wine Studies Center. The new Chemeketa Cellars label was featured, Wine Studies program alumni shared wine tasting samples, and awards were given. Kevin Smith received the Student Award and Ted Casteel received the Legacy Builder Award.

Over 100 people attended the Mental Health Awareness Conference on May 18. Following a keynote from Nike Greene on “Free Me from this Vicious Cycle of Poverty and Pain,” eight workshops on various diverse topics were offered. Thanks to the planning committee of Nette Abderhalden, Karen Alexander, Cary Ballew-Renfro, Paul Davis Jr.Meghan Gallop, Linda Herrera, Eusebio Herrera-Perez, Chris KatoThomas Lambert, and Esthela Zendejas.

The Yamhill Valley Campus won two awards in the annual UFO Festival in McMinnville on Saturday, May 19. YVC won best float and Holly Nelson won the Alien Parade Queen award. Thanks to the 30+ YVC employees who participated in the community event.

Student winners of the essay contest for the Chemeketa Reads book Hold Fast To Dreams were: Tyson James, first place; Raquel M. Rodriguez-Walmisley, second place; Sharon Mandiola Albor, third place; and Lea Sheldone, fourth place. Thanks to Cary Ballew-Renfro, Michele Burke, Daniel Couch, Robin Gilley, Abby Grewatz, Alissa Hartman, Linda Herrera, Diana Inch, and Layli Liss for reviewing and selecting the winning essays from 130 that were submitted.

Thanks to the Wellness Committee for organizing the Wellness Walkabout on June 1. Committee members and helpers included Sheila Brown, Megan Cogswell, Cheryl Davis, Nancy Espinosa, Meghan Gallop, Irma Guzman, Elaine KevorkianRachel Larsen, Heather McDaniel, Nikki Mundt, Tim Pierce, Heather Simpson-Howell, and Tina Sloan who teamed up with Exec Team members Jim Eustrom, David Hallett, Johnny Mack, Holly Nelson, Tim Rogers, Miriam Scharer and Alice Sprague to staff Wellness stations located around the Salem campus.

Student athletes Lakin Susee, women’s basketball, and Jack Frazier, men’s basketball, were finalists for the National Alliance of Two-Year College Athletic Administrators (NATYCAA) Scholar-Athlete Award. Also, Jack Frazier was the winner of the 2018 Red Lion Hotels & Inns Student-Athlete Scholarship from the Northwest Athletic Conference (NWAC). Jane Cale was named NWAC Volleyball Player of the Year and AVCA All American; and Traci Stephenson was named NWAC Volleyball Coach of the Year. NWAC awards were presented at the 2018 NWAC Hall of Fame Banquet, in Pasco, WA, on May 31.

The Oregon Chapter of Coalition of Adult Basic Education (COABE) recognized Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici for her support of basic skills education at Portland Community College-Rock Creek campus on May 29. President Julie Huckestein and ESOL student Kathleen Li said a few words about Congresswoman Bonamici’s support of Adult Basic Skills programs and how it helps underrepresented and non-traditional students reach their highest potential (see photo and copies in board folder). Danielle Hoffman and Chris Kato also attended.

Two Chemeketa music concerts were held spring term. The Spring Chemeketa Choir and Orchestra performed on Saturday, June 9, in the Building 6 Auditorium; and the Spring Chemeketa Band Concert was held on Sunday, June 10, at in the Building 6 Auditorium. Thanks to Kerry Burtis, music instructor, and all the music students for wonderful performances.

Thanks to Chris Cooper and Kelly Pointer, Public Safety dispatchers, and Cory Gorman, Public Safety officer, who helped organize the sixth annual Public Safety and Job Fair on June 6. Students, staff, and the public were able to visit with public safety agencies from Oregon and Washington to explore careers in public safety, see vehicles and equipment used, and learn about skills required in the industry.

Thanks to Leanna Crawford, English instructor, for organizing and promoting this year’s Soapbox Poetry and to the following faculty and staff who participated in the spring term Soapbox Poetry readings: Deanna Beausoleil, Shoran Breeden, Tammy JabinChristine Linder, Eva Payne, Jill Rupert, Allison Tobey, and Jan VanStavern.

Thanks to the staff and faculty who have organized the many end-of-year gatherings and celebrations including the Student Leadership reception, Keizer Chamber Greeters, end-of-year student/staff BBQ, TRiO/College Completion Program Awards Banquet, Engineering Students Bridge Competition, Visual Communications Portfolio Show, LPN and RN Pinning ceremonies, and the CAMP, Talent Search, Upward Bound, and HEP Celebrations.

Congratulations to the 47 employees enrolled in the Weight Watchers at Work meetings spring term who have shed 390.8 pounds in 13 weeks. In total, 883 pounds have been lost!