President’s April Recognition Report

posted in: Recognition | 0

Julie Huckestein recognized the following colleagues for recent contributions to Chemeketa and to their professions at the April Board of Education meeting-

Linda Ringo-Reyna, multicultural student services coordinator, and student leaderHeather Villegas coordinated the 26th annual Thompson/Patch Scholarship Awards on Sunday, March 10 in the Building 2 Student Center. This was the fourth year Chemeketa hosted this event. The awards program honored 22 graduating seniors from the Salem-Keizer schools and Chemawa Indian High School. The majority of the students attend Chemeketa and graduate or transfer to a four-year institution. The Nellie Thompson-Dorothy Patch Scholarship fund is a local non-profit organization that provides scholarships to Salem area ethnic minority students to pursue a college or technical degree. It focuses on students who have shown promise through their efforts to overcome adversity in their own lives. Linda also serves on the scholarship board.

The Chemeketa Community College Website was honored with a bronze Paragon Award by the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR) at its annual national conference in San Antonio, Texas on March 25. Congratulations to the Marketing and Public Relations staff Nancy Duncan, Meghan Gallop, Terri Jacobson, Robert LaHue, and Esthela Zendejas.

100 percent of the Medical Assisting students (29) at Yamhill Valley Campus passed the Medical Assistant National Center for Competence Testing (NCCT) Exam and Phlebotomy (20) exam in March.

Lynn Irvin, administrative coordinator in College Support Services, was recently elected to the 2019 American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) National Board as Region 8 Director for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2019. The regional district covers Oregon, California, Nevada, Arizona, Hawaii, Washington and Alaska.

An article was in the Oregon Wine Press Magazine highlighting vineyards and wineries that make sparkling wine. Scott Dwyer, wine studies program chair, was featured and shared information about Chemeketa Cellars sparkling wine production. Scott has been instrumental in responding to industry trends and needs by developing training opportunities specific to sparkling wine production for Wine Studies students. A copy of the article is in the board folder or can be viewed online at

James McNicholas, Chemeketa Accelerated Pathways to Success (CAPS) coordinator, helped to plan the 11th annual Oregon Battle of the Books on Saturday, April 6. Terry Rohse and Sean Warner managed the facilities and logistics for the event, which was held in the Building 6 Auditorium and surrounding buildings. This is a statewide voluntary reading motivation and comprehension program within K–12 sponsored by the Oregon Association of School Libraries. Regional competitions between schools culminate in a statewide competition. The event is organized by a volunteer team of enthusiastic public school librarians across the state and requires dozens of volunteers and 20+ classrooms. Over 1,000 people attended the event. There were 60 teams from 24 elementary schools, 21 middle schools and 15 high schools that competed. The winners were James John Elementary School (Portland), West Sylvan Middle School (Portland), and Creswell High School.

Thanks to the generous donations from college employees and board members, the Chemeketachapter of American Association for Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) had a very successful clothing sale on Monday, April 8. Nearly $600 was collected for the AAWCC student scholarship. That’s 600 items at $1 each! Clothing left at the end of the sale was donated to several places. The CAMP program collected shirts for their long-sleeved shirt drive for farmworkers, children’s clothing went to the STEPS program for their clothing closet, the Chemeketa Hood-to-Coast team took a few boxes for their upcoming clothing sale, and the remainder went to Helping Hands Resources in Salem who provides clothing, bedding, and household items to anyone in need at no charge. Student and employee volunteers who helped plan the event, sort clothing, and staff the sale were Nette Abderhalden, Rita Blaisdell, Beth Bonnet, Erika Coker, Kacey Garcia, Peggy Greene, Irma Guzman, Rebecca Hillyer, Simone Hughes, Lynn Irvin, Liliana Landa-villalba, Adriande Lutz, Cathy Martell-Straight, Guinne Muir, Linda Ringo-Reyna, Terry Rohse and Mary Schroeder.

Vivi Caleffi Prichard, Diversity and Equity and Title IX Officer, was recognized as a rising star making a difference for the college and the community they serve. Vivi was one of the recipients of the AAWCC Under 40 Award at the AAWCC Awards breakfast at the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Conference in Orlando, Florida on April 15.

Students Dana Gann, Hawkeye Morgan, and Kathy Behring (from Yamhill Valley Campus) were selected as the three Chemeketa students for the Oregon Community College Association (OCCA) All-Oregon Academic Team for 2019. Hawkeye Morgan will be one of the three student speakers. The students will be recognized at a luncheon honoring their academic accomplishments on April 26, at the Chemeketa Eola Northwest Wine Studies Center, along with a photo shoot with Governor Kate Brown at the state Capitol. As an All-Oregon Academic Team member, the students are eligible for national scholarships, and a number of the four-year universities in Oregon offer transfer scholarships to continue their education. Students were selected based on excellence in the classroom; intellectual curiosity outside the classroom; evidence of substantial development of their talents; and ability to share this development with others.